Whisky · Explainer
What does grain to glass mean for whisky?
Grain to glass is not a legally protected designation. A distillery uses the term when it does the whole chain itself: grain, malting, mashing, fermenting, distilling, maturing and bottling. What is fixed is the category: Regulation (EU) 2019/787 requires for whisky at least three years of maturation in wooden casks of at most 700 litres and at least 40 percent alcohol. So test the designation, not the slogan.
In brief
The key figures
| Legal definition of grain to glass | None; the term does not appear in Regulation (EU) 2019/787 or in the Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009 |
|---|---|
| Whisky according to the EU | Mash of malted grains, saccharification by malt diastase, fermentation with yeast, each distillation below 94.8 percent alcohol |
| Ageing | At least three years in wooden casks of no more than 700 litres |
| Minimum strength at bottling | 40 percent alcohol by volume |
| Permitted additions | Only water and caramel (E 150a); sweetening and flavoring are not allowed |
| Single Malt Scotch Whisky | A distillery in Scotland, water and malted barley, pot stills, maturation exclusively in Scotland |
| Protected Scottish regional names | Highland, Lowland, Speyside, Islay and Campbeltown |
| American single malt whisky | Legally defined since 19 January 2025: 100 percent malted barley, one distillery in the US, oak casks of up to 700 litres |
Is grain to glass a legally protected designation?
No. Grain to glass does not appear in Regulation (EU) 2019/787 or in the Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009; no authority checks the term.
Both sets of rules do describe the category of whisky down to the details. The EU regulation prescribes in Annex I, category 2 that whisky comes from a mash of malted grains, that the starch conversion is done by the diastase of the malt, that it is fermented with yeast and that every distillation stays below 94.8 percent alcohol. About the words grain to glass it says nothing.
So the term is the producer’s own description, just like field to bottle and seed to sip. That does not make such a claim untrue. It means nobody checks it for you, and you have to ask about it yourself.
Which steps does a distillery mean by grain to glass?
Usually the whole chain in their own hands: growing or buying grain, malting, mashing, fermenting, distilling, maturing and bottling at their own site.
Part of that is, for a single malt, already legally tied to a place. The Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009 require that the mash is made at that distillery, that the conversion takes place with its own enzymes and that fermentation and distillation take place on site in pot stills.
It is precisely the steps outside it that leave the rules open. There is no requirement about the country where the barley was grown. For Scotch, maturation must take place entirely in Scotland, under the supervision of the British tax authority, but not necessarily on the distillery’s own site. Anyone who says grain to glass is therefore mainly making a statement about grain, malting, maturation location and bottling line.
Which designations on a whisky bottle are legally defined?
The category, the age and the origin are fixed. Single malt, Scotch, the five Scottish region names and an age statement are legally defined and enforceable.
Regulation (EU) 2019/787 allows the addition single malt only for whisky distilled exclusively from malted barley at a single distillery. The Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009 govern, in separate articles, the names of distilleries, the region and place names, and the statements on maturation, age and year of distillation. According to the Scotch Whisky Association, Highland, Lowland, Speyside, Islay and Campbeltown may only appear on the bottle if the whisky has been distilled entirely in that region, and an age always refers to the youngest whisky in the bottle.
Such a description can be added as well. The American tax authority TTB defined American single malt whisky as of 19 January 2025: 100 percent malted barley, distilled at a single American distillery, matured in oak casks of no more than 700 litres. More on this can be found at how to read a whisky label and what Scotch whisky is.
How can you test a grain to glass claim?
By three questions: where the still stood, where the malting was done and where it was bottled. A producer who uses the term can name those three places.
Start with the distillery name on the bottle. With Scotch that name is protected: according to the Scotch Whisky Association, using it as a brand name is unlawful when the whisky was not fully distilled there. If a bottle names no distillery, the claim has little to stand on.
Then check whether the label or the website says where the barley comes from and who did the malting. If that is not stated, check with the producer or ask at the counter. A distillery that truly runs the chain itself names those steps unprompted.
What does single malt say about a single distillery?
Legally, a single malt comes from a single distillery, made exclusively from malted barley. That requirement appears in both the EU regulation and the Scottish rules.
On the shelf at the Brink in Bathmen there are 383 bottles with single malt in the name. For each of them, distillation is therefore tied to a single distillery. Whether the malting, maturing and bottling also took place there is not stated in that designation; that is precisely the part grain to glass is about.
Wilt u weten hoe ver een distilleerderij de keten zelf draait, leg dan twee flessen naast elkaar en lees wat er over herkomst en rijping op staat. Kom langs aan de Brink in Bathmen als u wilt vergelijken; wij lezen de etiketten met u mee. Alcohol verkopen wij niet aan wie jonger is dan achttien: NIX18.
From the shop in Bathmen
Which single malts are on the shelf in Bathmen?
In the shop in Bathmen there are 383 whiskies with single malt in the name from 183 different brands from 24 countries. Prices range from € 19.99 to € 2,299.00. The alcohol percentage ranges from 40% to 72.6%.
- 1770 Glasgow Single Malt 52% · 70 cl · Scotland
- Aber Falls Madeira cask Welsh single malt whisky 47% · 70 cl · Wales
- Aber Falls Welsch Single Malt Whisky 40% · 70 cl · Wales
- Aerstone 10 Years Old Land Cask Single Malt 40% · 70 cl · Scotland
- Aerstone 10 Years Old Sea Cask Single Malt 40% · 70 cl · Scotland
- Akashi Single Malt 5 Years Old Sherry cask 50% · 50 cl · Japan
- Akkeshi WhiskyRitto Single MAlt 55% · 70 cl · Japan
- Amaethon French Single Malt 45% · 70 cl · France
- Amrut Indian Single Malt Whisky 46% · 70 cl · India
- Amrut Kurinji Single Malt 46% · 70 cl · India
Related questions
What does non-chill filtered mean for whisky?What does on the rocks mean for whisky?What does ppm mean for whisky?
Short answer
Short answers to related questions
- Does grain to glass mean the grain comes from its own land?
- Not by definition. The term is not regulated, so the distillery decides for itself what it counts under it. Ask about the origin of the grain.
- Is field to bottle the same as grain to glass?
- In practice it is used interchangeably, just like seed to sip. None of those terms is legally defined.
- May a whisky carry the name of a distillery that did not distil it?
- Not with Scotch. According to the Scotch Whisky Association, a distillery name as a brand name is unlawful if the whisky was not entirely distilled there.
- Does Scotch whisky have to be bottled in Scotland?
- No. Scotch must mature entirely in Scotland, under the supervision of the British tax authority. Bottling may take place elsewhere.
- How long must whisky mature at a minimum?
- Three years, in wooden casks of at most 700 litres. That applies throughout the European Union and also to Scotch.
The reasoning
Sources
- The Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009, regulation 3, legislation.gov.uk (accessed 2026-10-16)
- The Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009, inhoudsopgave, legislation.gov.uk (accessed 2026-10-16)
- Verordening (EU) 2019/787, bijlage I, categorie 2 (geconsolideerde versie), EUR-Lex (accessed 2026-10-16)
- Guidance for Bottlers and Producers 2025, Scotch Whisky Association (accessed 2026-10-16)
- TTB Establishes American Single Malt Whisky Standard of Identity, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (accessed 2026-10-16)
This page was written and checked by ’t Bockje Bathmen, wine & spirits shop at the Brink 2 in Bathmen. Last updated on 16 October 2026.
Verkoop van alcohol onder de 18 jaar is verboden. NIX18.

